School of Rock – Week 13 – Changes

“Music can name the unnameable and communicate the unknowable.” –  Leonard Bernstein

SUMMARY

  • Write your weekly summary here, last, at the end of the week…
    • Only one to two sentences of WHAT YOU DID
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE

CONTROL ROOM (RECORDING & MIXING)

This was actually really insightful. Even though I knew how to do 90% of this stuff anyways, I now know how to quantize (a VERY helpful thing for any and all drums!) and got a few tips that I could use for recording. For instance, there is this quote at 7:46 that is really helpful: “when in doubt, pull everything down”. This will go a LONG way in improving my mixing abilities as a whole and was overall just one of those “a-ha!” moments. Really cool stuff!

How interested in recording, engineering (sound effects, EQ), and mixing?

    • 1 (YUCK!)
    • 2 (not really)
    • 3 (sorta interested)
    • 4 (interested)
    • 5 (YES!)

Your score: 5. This is kinda obvious because this is the final step for me in getting my album finished! Plus, increasing my knowledge in Soundtrap will help in the long run. because I use it for basically all school-related music.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Write only a few sentences of WHAT YOU LEARNED
  • In one or two sentences, describe a PROBLEM YOU SOLVED

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *