Session 6 Production Project

SUMMARY

Role:

This time around, I’m taking on the role of mixer to get a second draft on the “final mix” the song I presented last time, a song I have chosen to give the working title of “Daydream”.

Intention (SMART Goal)

By March 18 as a part of a solo project, I will have learned from Greg Fidelman to be able to produce a workable song for the Session 6 Production Project.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

This month’s Leader In the Field is Greg Fidelman. If that name sounds familiar, I did a blog post on him 2 years ago. He has produced many albums from different artists of different genres, from Adele’s breakout album 21 to his more recent work with Slipknot’s We Are Not Your Kind. However, I idolize him more for producing Metallica’s Hardwired to Self-Destruct. Here’s a song from that album, ManUNkind:

Here is his interview on that album.

Training Source(s)

21:35: Explaining how process went day-to-day

21:56: Explains how the song structures were built

22:19: Gives example in the song “Atlas, Rise!

23:33: Explains another pro of “working in batches”

23:49: Explains process of recording/writing guitar solos.

24:05: REALLY good quote!

24:45:  Explains “mistake” that turned into 2 songs on the album

Project Timeline

  1. Decide with Keith who is going to use the Soundroom and Greenroom and when.
  2. During first week of days in Soundroom, improve mix and (maybe) re-record bass w/Rune Boggs
  3. During time in Greenroom, figure out decent drum part
  4. At home, write lyrics.
  5. During second week in Soundroom record vocals (with Tiana?)
  6. Book time in recording studio
  7. Record Drum track on said day
  8. Place drum files into Garageband project
  9. Work on final mix
  10. Export final mix to Soundtrap
  11. Present

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The Song

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

This is shown in abundance, but I’m going to reiterate that all that you hear is played by me.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I worked (once again) with Dustin Price to work on recording another live take of drums

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used Logic Pro to record the drums, Garageband to mix and Soundtrap to export the final product.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

Due to the coronavirus/COVID-19, I found a way to prepare for the worst and get things done even when the ideal equipment is not available.

Reactions to the Final Version

“Sounds good! I think the guitar could go, because in spots you could barely hear it” – Stef Pratt.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Honestly, I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to(i.e. vocals were nonexistent) but I’m glad that I was at least able to record live drums and add that in, as inconsistent as it was.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

So what did I learn from all of this? Well, I learned that viruses suck.

In all seriousness, however, I did learn that timelines are not flexible and that I need to step up in the responsibility department once again. Stay safe.

Grammar and Spelling

This was spellchecked in Google Docs.

Editor

 

NOTE: Due to the coronavirus outbreak and my school’s cancellation, the quality of my projects sound might change slightly/dramatically. I apologize if that is the case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *