Bass Recording Project

  • Summary

  • Everyone knows the saying “drop the bass” right? Well, if you hadn’t guessed already, this time I’m working on – you guessed it – the bassline.
  • My First Bass Line

  • https://soundcloud.com/tristan-pratt-456805564/bass-thingamajig
  • This is a 8-measure bassline just off the top of my head. It’s not the best in the world, but it’s a start.
  • One of My Favorite Bass Lines

  • Seven Nation Army!
  • Just kidding.
  • Second Bass Line

  • https://soundcloud.com/tristan-pratt-456805564/bass-thingamajig-2-o-the
  • This non-walking bass riff uses the root note. A LOT. There was no inversion in the entire piece, but I did use the chromatic scale starting with C.
  • Bass Terms

  • Tonality – The way a piece of music is defined by scale/key.
  • Root / Tonic Note – The bottom note of a chord.
  • Walking Bass – Bass “lick” that features a bass playing up and down a scale in 4/4 time on the beat.
  • Chromatic Scale – Musical scale w/12 pitches.
  • Inversion – Using a chord other than the tonic/root note for the bass note.
  • Bass Riff – Part of a piece of music that features the bass demonstrating melodic skill.
  • What I Learned and Problems I Solved

  • So what did I learn from the last of four projects? Well, the bassline is more complicated then Cliff Burton made it look, long story short.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *